Smile is the latest evolution in photo management from Webshots, a company that has been an innovator in photo sharing for 18 years.
The Webshots website is closing and we are currently focused on transitioning our members to the new service.
- Your photo albums are 100% safe, accessible on Smile by Webshots or conveniently saved to your desktop
- We are replacing the Webshots Desktop with the Smile Desktop, a simpler photo screensaver and uploader
- No new photos are being added to Webshots; all new activity will happen on smile.webshots.com
- All Webshots memberships transfer to smile.webshots.com, but accounts must be confirmed before Webshots closes on December 1
Please visit Help for more details.
How do I transfer my photos and videos to Smile by Webshots?
Members’ photos are automatically transferred to the new service. To get started, log in here with your Webshots username and password.
Can I still get professional photos?
Yes, we are still offering beautiful professional photos to download to your screensaver. However, we are no longer releasing new photos on daily.webshots.com. All new professional photos will appear in a Webshots Daily photo stream on smile.webshots.com. Simply log in with your Webshots username and password to access this photo stream.
What will happen to the photos, videos and Picture Shows in my old Webshots account?
Once you confirm your new Smile by Webshots account, all of your photos, videos and Picture Shows will be available through our new service, but only accessible to you and anyone you invite. Important: you must confirm your account to continue to access your photos. All of your old content will be available on Webshots.com until December 1. After that, your content will no longer be available on Webshots.com.
Can I download and save my Webshots photos and videos?
Absolutely. We’ve made it easy for all members to download and save their images. (Once you have them saved to your desktop, you can still check out our new service too). Get started downloading and saving your images now.
Is there a new Smile Desktop app?
Yes. We’ve updated the Webshots Desktop and it is now called Smile Desktop. We are no longer supporting old versions of the Webshots Desktop. We have auto-updated all the latest versions of the software that were out there. Some people may have older versions of the Webshots Desktop, which will not continue to work as expected.
What platforms and devices will Smile by Webshots work on?
Smile can be used on PCs and Macs, and we also offer an iPhone app. We are also developing an Android app, which we expect to launch in the fall.
Does Smile by Webshots still have a free membership?
Smile by Webshots will be free to everyone until our official launch. When we launch later this fall, Smile will be a subscription service. We will offer a free 30-day trial so that you can decide whether you’d like to subscribe, but like many other photo services, we no longer offer a free membership. For information on subscription plans, please see our Pricing page.
Can I still share my photos publicly?
The landscape of photo sharing has changed dramatically in the age of Facebook. Smile by Webshots is no longer a traditional public photo sharing site; it is a platform that pulls together your photos from multiple places and services for you to easily share. Smile gathers your photos from all the different places you keep them and stores them securely in the cloud where you can then share as many or as few as you want. If you are only interested in sharing publicly, there are a number of great services to check out: Instagram, SmugMug, Flickr, 500px to name a few.
Why is this change taking place now?
For the past five years, Webshots has been a part of American Greetings. After exploring digital photos as part of their interactive offering, American Greetings decided this was not a core focus and decided to sell Webshots. As a result, the site was purchased by members of the original Webshots founding team, who are excited to introduce the next generation of photo sharing with Smile by Webshots.
How is Smile by Webshots different from other services?
We’ve found that many people nowadays have their photos scattered on various computers, phones, disk drives and cameras, not to mention sites like Facebook and Flickr. Smile by Webshots helps organize your photos in one place and securely stores them in the cloud. More importantly, Smile lets you share life’s experiences and events with close family and friend instantly, without having to upload, tag or edit photos.
Is the old Webshots site going away?
Yes and no. Your photos won’t be accessible publicly in the way they once were. All photos will be removed by December 1. Until then, you may use message boards and you may search, browse and view images, but you won’t be able to upload or download images. We are no longer supporting the old Webshots service as we move to the new system. At the same time, we’ve made it easy for you to either bring your photos into the new service or to save them to your desktop.
What do I need to do?
If you would like to keep enjoying your photos on Smile by Webshots, you’ll need to confirm your account by logging in here. If you do not wish to use Smile by Webshots, you may also save your photos to your desktop. For unconfirmed accounts, all photos will be removed by December 1, 2012.